Hidden Valley Hibiscus Forum
April 25, 2024, 10:40:37 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: 2011 HVH Online Store is Open!

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Saffron has different leaves  (Read 9329 times)
Gina

« on: June 17, 2012, 05:14:57 PM »

Hi Everyone,

I have a Saffron that has a stem that is growing leaves that look different from my Saffron's leaves. I am posting pictures to show the different color, texture and shape of leaves. I'm assuming I won't know what this is until it blooms. My question, is how much should I prune this to get it to bloom? Since this is my first time posting pixs I hope the pix's are viewable.

Thank you so much for your help,

Gina

* The other hibscus.jpg (166.08 KB, 480x640 - viewed 710 times.)

* The other's leaves.jpg (115.86 KB, 640x480 - viewed 642 times.)
Mike

Cabot Arkansas

« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2012, 08:37:48 PM »

Hi Gina
The plant that you have is probably grafted & the different leaves are coming from the root stock . They will out grow the saffron above the graft if you don't remove them , Cut them off all the way down from where they started growing out from . You can't just trim them back because they will just bud back and get thicker you have to remove them completely. And if the cut is big you can put some candle wax on the cut to protect it, I usually just melt some candle wax dip my finger in it and rub it on the stem where I just made the cut . That seals it & protect's it from infection .
Charlie
Administrator

« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2012, 04:51:37 AM »

Gina, that looks like a pretty big Saffron plant. Have you had it long? Did you get it from HVH? I can't recall ever grafting a Saffron but may have done so many years ago - say prior to 2005.